Switch Language

MAK Prize - extended date for the nomination and updated regulations

Submitted by on Wed, 03/29/2023 - 06:56
Wed, 02/01/2023 - Fri, 04/14/2023

The M.A.K. Halliday Prize 

is an international book prize awarded biennially for the most significant scholarly monograph recently published in Systemic Functional Linguistics (SFL). It is named in memory of M.A.K. Halliday, who was the leading figure in the development of SFL theory. The principal criterion for success will be evidence of excellence and significance in furthering and developing the work of Systemic Functional Linguistics.


ASFLA (The Australian Systemic Functional Linguistics Association) now calls for nominations world-wide for the first M.A.K. Halliday Prize. The initial award, to be presented at ASFLA 2023, will be AU$1000. The award will be assessed together by an international selection committee; in 2023 each of its seven members is from a different region. 

(Apologies if you have already received this notice. Please reply to one only.)


Nominations are DUE by 31st March 2023. The cut-off date for nomination for the Award is now extended to April 14 (that is two weeks later than the original due date, March 31st). 


The publication period for the first award is 1st January 2021 to 31st December 2022. 

Note: The year of publication can be taken from the year of release OR the year of copyright. If release year and copyright year fall in different award periods, a book can be nominated in one only.


Summary conditions of eligibility and award of the Prize

See the M.A.K. Halliday Prize Regulations: Regulation extracts (edited for 2023 Award) attached. (A copy of the complete Regulations is available on request.)


Criteria of eligibility

The prize is open

  • to books published within the publication period;

  • to books focusing on Systemic Functional Linguistics, broadly defined;

  • to books from any country and written in any language;

  • to books emphasizing theoretical, descriptive or applied concerns;

  • to authored monographs of new work*;

  • to scholars of all levels and career stages;

  • to books with multiple authors. 

* Second or subsequent editions of a scholarly monograph will generally not be eligible unless in the opinion of the selection committee such a book makes a significantly new contribution on par with a first edition book of new work. 


Who can nominate

  • The nomination may be made by the author/s or by another scholar who wishes to nominate the book. It is not essential to obtain the permission of an author before nominating a book.

  • See Regulations items 26 and 27 on restrictions and conflicts of interest in relation to committee members.


Criteria for the award 

The selection committee will award the Prize based on the following criteria:

  • The excellence of the work;

  • Its significance for the development of Systemic Functional Linguistics.


Method of nomination

Nomination should include BOTH an Abstract of the book AND two pages (maximum) of relevant information.

Relevant information includes:

  • the name and contact details of the nominator;

  • the title and authorship of the book;

  • the publication details of the book: place of publication, publisher;

  • a confirmation of its eligibility: date of publication;

  • an argument for the book's significance in relation to the criteria of the award;

  • any other details the nominator wishes to include within the two-page limit.


Please send completed nominations or questions on eligibility etc to:


Marta Filipe Alexandre

Selection Committee member for Europe 


and also please Cc to the Chair of the selection committee:


ASFLA (The Australian Systemic Functional Linguistics Association)
ASFLA (The Australian Systemic Functional Linguistics Association)
Contact person
Contact person email address